FROM THE BLOG

NO WORDS TO DESCRIBE

There are no words to describe howupset and disappointed i am right now. Some of you know why i am upset for those who do not i will tell you why. As of right now the team i have a contract with does not have a licence which means we don’t HAVE A TEAM. With less than a month away from the start of preseason practice we don’t know anything beside what we read on the Internet. There is 1 teammate who is still in Belgium who calls me and tells me things he hears from the people on the inside with first hand knowledge of the situation. Think for a second about the company you work for that you promised to work for for at least one more year might not be there, is out of MONEY and you don’t know whats going on and you have to read what happens.

To put things more in perspective for you here is a brief time line of events. We lose in the finals and all had personal meetings on who stays or goes and we were told that everything is fine. That we will play ULEB (which is a European competition where you play teams from other countries) for sure. That we will build a team that will be as good as last year. Then in late June early July there are talks that we will not get a license which i didn’t believe but its true we lost the ULEB bid and i hear the team is 2 million euros (3.1 million dollars) in debt and that the team must show that they have at least 750,000 euros (1,192,500 million dollars) in the bank. The first day for the report comes and no money in the bank so the team is not granted a licence to play in 1st division, the team appeals and July 15 was the decision date of the appeal and the licence was again denied for no money in the account. The team president has a interview and says that the financial situation never looked better. I hope he is right and get this taken care of. They have 5 days to appeal again and are looking into the situation right now. With all that being said i just have a few questions of my own :            

  1. Why don’t we have 750,000 euros? we did make it to the finals.
  2. Why did Pepinster get a licence when they don’t pay their players?
  3. Why is the stuff off the team website?
  4. Will they appeal?
  5. What happens to the team if we don’t get a licence?
  6. What would the fans do?
  7. When should we decide as players to look for other jobs?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *